It would be bad enough to get attacked by the human undead but just the thought of hundreds of brain hungry, crustaceans, clawing away at my gray matter is enough to make me steer clear of the seafood section at the supermarket.

slobsterI  just finished another piece for Ranger Rick Magazine.  The art was for the Reader Riddles section. I’ve done many of these riddle illustrations over the years and they are great fun.  I’m continually impressed with the great jokes that kids submit to the magazine.  I won’t give the joke away but here is the illustration.

Cool Lobster Facts:

  1. Lobsters exhibit handedness. Some have the crusher claw on the right and others on the left.
  2. Lobsters come in a variety of colors, and some come in two colors.
  3. Lobsters can regenerate legs, claws, and antennae, and will amputate ( or drop) their limbs to escape danger.

Hey! A new slang term for narrowly escaping danger.  ” I dropped a claw before all hell broke lose.”

more lobster facts

________________________________________________________________________

ghostassets

It’s amazing how many uses there are for zombies.  The last zombie illustration I did was for a cook book, this one is for a trade magazine for accountants. No it isn’t equating accountants with hallow eyed corpses. It is describing two different types of assets and how they show up on the books. Ghost assets, and Zombie assets.

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ve been trying to be more spontanious and bring more ” design” to my work.  This piece is in that same direction.  I’m really enjoying branching out a little, and getting away from my over enthusiastic detailing.

Cool 19th Century Zombie Cartoon

________________________________________________________________________

mailme

I have a piece in the Going Postal book and exhibition. “Mail me Art” is The brain child of Darren over at Little Chip Society. This project is a collection of more than 600 pieces of art contributed by artists from across the globe.

You can pick up a copy here.

The exhibition is being held at the Red Gate Gallery in London. You can grab a piece directly from the gallery. All unsold art from the show will be available for purchase on  Mail Me Art web site after the show.

Red Gate Gallery

April 3rd – April -9th
209a Coldharbour Lane,
London. SW9 8RU. UK

redgategallery.co.uk

________________________________________________________________________

This Tuesday I went to sketch Tuesday at 111 Minna in San Francisco with my buddy Ben Walker.  The event brings artists, collectors, and art lovers, together to socialize, and either sell or buy affordable piece of art that were created on the spot. How it works is that 111 Minna invites “guest artists” to come the gallery sit at tables and make art.  When a piece is finished it gets pinned to the wall with a price tag on it.  Pretty simple. The great thing about the event is that even if you are not an “invited artist” you can still participate. The bar must make a killing on drink sales especially for a Tuesday evening cause the place was packed.  I was one of the bottom feeder artists on the sidelines.

sketchtues1The painting in the background is by Ted Lincoln and part of the current exhibition at the gallery. They are some of the best abstract paintings I’ve seen in a long time. If you live in the bay area I would highly suggest checking out his show

My theme for the evening was of course, MONSTERS. My plan was to start off with 2″ X 2″ drawings for the first  hour then move on to 3″ x 4″ drawings and end with a longer bigger drawing.  I stuck with my plan and put them up as I finished them.  I priced them at $5 and $10 hoping to cover my bar tab.  Alas no one was into monsters that night.  So I thought I would post them here. Maybe even start a listing just for the sketch Tuesday drawings.

SKETCH TUESDAY – MARCH 31, 2009

3-31_2lo

3-31_3lo3-31_4lo

3-31_6lo

3-31_5lo

3-31_7lo

I think I was channeling Basil Wolverton while working on these.

3-31_8loThis is the big one (about 8″x 10″) although it doesn’t look like it. I didn’t finish it in time.

3-31_9loThis free standing pop – up drawing is hands down my favorite from the evening.

All in all I had a great time hanging out and drawing. I’ll definitely be going back next time. Maybe next time I’ll do a better job of documenting the evening.  If you are interested in picking up one of these glorified doodles give me a shout.

________________________________________________________________________