What a great week.  To start Cory Doctorow gave Monkey Truck a great review on Boing-Boing saying,“My three-year-old loves Michael Slack’s new picture book Monkey Truck…The artwork is great, colorful and elaborated with lots of details that are fun to talk about during storytime. All told, it’s a darned fun storytime treat.”

You can read the entire review and comments regarding terms like overdrive, supercharged, and turbocharged here.

Speaking of storytime treats,  I’m going to be reading Monkey Truck at the children’s book store  –  The Reading Bug in San Carlos on February 24 at 11 am . –

It’s going to be a blast. In addition to reading, I’ll also be creating a colaborative drawing with all the kids. Copies will be available at the event, and there will be free stickers.

In other Monkey Truck news: The book reached number 7 on the Childrens Book of the Month club top 100 sellers list.

Look what came in the mail! Thingling fabric.

thingling fabric

In preparation for Surtex 2011 I’ve been hard at work on my licensing portfolio.  One of the collections is based on series of images I call Thinglings. They are fun critters created with simple shapes and bold colors.

I ordered the fabric to see how the images would translate to fabric.  It turned out great.  Now I need to break out the sewing machine and see if I can stitch something together.